Home » Silky Blue slots epic goal-of-the-year contender

Silky Blue slots epic goal-of-the-year contender

Carlton forward Michael Gibbons booted two stellar goals in the opening half of tonight’s clash with Collingwood and the second could go in the running for 2021 goal of the year.

The 25-year-old snagged his first goal after receiving the footy from Marc Murphy in the right-forward pocket midway through the opening term, before selling Darcy Moore candy and piercing a banana through the MCG sticks.

Gibbons snags a gem

But Gibbons exceeded those heroics midway through the second term when he retrieved the Sherrin just inside the boundary in the right-forward pocket and dribbled home a goal from an extremely tight angle.

“Early contender, Michael Gibbons!” Fox Footy commentator James Brayshaw said as the silky Blue rolled his second goal home.

“They are two of the best goals that this man on screen will ever kick. First quarter the outside-of-the-boot banana and this quarter the on-the-ground, Pele/Daicos-style dribbler.”

Former Melbourne captain Garry Lyon raved about the two goals in the half-time break.

“Two of the all-times have been kicked by one bloke,” Lyon said.

“Let’s just whack this on the table right now.

“That was full of class. This might have topped it in the end.”

Former Brisbane Lions champion Jonathan Brown said Gibbons’ pair of six-pointers would be tough to exceed in the race for goal of the year.

But No.40’s second goal wasn’t free of controversy as the ball could have been deemed out of bounds – so dubious it was.

“There are Collingwood supporters all around us going, ‘Give me a spell. That was almost as out of bounds as another famous (goal)’ …” Lyon said as Fox Footy rolled the footage of Wayne Harmes’ controversial goal in the 1979 VFL grand final.

Star Collingwood midfielder Taylor Adams then slotted a sparkling goal of his own early in the third quarter, swooping on the footy just inside the boundary in the left-forward pocket.

The goal was sent to the ARC because the on-field umpires, after it was awarded a goal, couldn’t be certain it hadn’t brushed a post.

But the goal remained because there wasn’t sufficient evidence to overturn it.

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

Leave a Reply